BJP, JD (U) Alliance Seat Sharing Confirmed for Upcoming LS Elections in Bihar

After the ‘Mahagathbandan’ formed by Congress with other Oppositional parties, now BJP and JD (U) have formed an alliance, as a strategic approach to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Bihar, talks over which have been held at length by both parties.

Detailed discussions over the seat sharing proportion by each party is finalized and will be disclosed at the ‘right’ time as the Bihar chief Minister and National President of JD (U), Nitish Kumar said.

Senior JD(U) leaders said that as part of the arrangement, the BJP and the JD(U) will contest 16 seats each, while Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) is likely to get four seats, and Union minister Upendra Khushwaha could get two seats. The remaining two will be divided between Arun Kumar and Pappu Yadav. However, an official statement was not issued by either the JD(U) or the BJP.

“The top leadership of the party has conveyed to us that JD(U) and BJP are likely to get 16 seats each. It is a respectable formula between the two parties. It is important that parties respect each other in an alliance. Nitish Kumar is an important member of the NDA (National Democratic Alliance) and the senior most leader of NDA in Bihar. His position should be reflected in the seat-sharing formula,” said a senior JD(U) leader based in Patna.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, JD(U) had contested the polls along with Communist Party of India (CPI). Kumar’s party won only two out of the 38 seats it had contested and lost deposits in 23 seats. The BJP, on the other hand, had won 22 out of the 40 seats in Bihar, with the NDA picking up 31 seats, which included LJP’s six and three of Khushwaha’s Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP).

However, RSLV is demanding the same number of seats as they had in 2014 elections without any comprise in the seat proportion, alleged a senior leader from the party.