Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

DMDK Seals Pact With AIADMK-BJP-PMK Alliance In Tamil Nadu For Four Lok Sabha Seats

The DMDK party of the actor-turned-politician Vijaykanth finally finalised an electoral pact wifh AIADMK led BJP-AIADMK-PMK coalition in Tamil Nadu. 

The All India Anna Dravidian Progressive Party (AIADMK) allotted four seats to Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) out of 39 seatsin the Lok Sabha polls. 

The leadership of the two parties signed an agreement on Sunday. The announcement comes shortly after the Election Commission (EC) announced the polling schedule for the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections.

Polling in Tamil Nadu will be held in a single phase on April 18. The alliance in Tamil Nadu consists of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), AIADMK, PMK, Puthiya Tamizhagam and AINRC. “It has been decided to allot 4 seats to DMDK. In the bypolls to 21 Assembly constituencies, the DMDK will support the AIADMK,” Tamil Nadu Deputy Chief Minister and AIADMK leader O Panneerselvam told the news agency PTI.

OPS dubbed the coterie as a “a mega and victory alliance” adding the constituencies on which the allies will contest will be announced after further parleys. DMDK’s pact with the AIADMK-led gathbandhan puts an end to weeks of uncertainty amid reports of Vijaykanth asking for higher seat share. The negotiations between the two parties had been underway for weeks now.

DMDK was supposed to formally join the alliance before the Narendra Modi’s rally March 6 rally in the state. However, a consensus could not be developed until then. AIADMK, on February 19, formally joined the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and as part of the agreement, the BJP will contest on five of 39 Lok Sabha seats in the state.